177 – Watch ‘Big Daddy’

02Aug10

Big Daddy Marcelle, a student from my work, decided to give me a rather random assortment of list things starting, for some unknown reason, with watching the Adam Sandler classic/cheesefest ‘Big Daddy‘. Ever a fan of list things I can do from my sofa I duly complied.

IMDb summarises the plot thus…

A lazy law school grad adopts a kid to impress his girlfriend, but everything doesn’t go as planned and he becomes the unlikely foster father

I don’t want to spoil the film for those of you who haven’t seen it but after some ‘crazy’ japes and a couple of predictable heartfelt moments the film descends into mediocrity.

I actually spent the first half an hour of the film trying to remember if I’d already seen it or whether it was such a good example of the lightweight comedy films by number that I seem to watch so often (and usually love to be fair) that I’d got it confused with something else. Eventually I decided I had already seen it which further ruined any hopes of suprise plot twists or clever subtexts.

I’m being quite harsh really, it is a perfectly fine film and has a cute kid in it (the one that played Ben in Friends) which always improves a film tenfold for me! Worth watching if there is nothing else on and you’re an Adam Sandler fan (which I tend not to be unfortunately, I’ve never forgiven him for 50 First Dates).

Jo x

One Response to “177 – Watch ‘Big Daddy’”

  1. 1 Liz

    Shall we try to stalk Brian Fortuna on Thursday so you can complete your “meet a celebrity” task :)


Leave a Reply

